An exercise in unmasking.

Testing the waters in a public space.

Neely Kimey
7 min readNov 20, 2023
A black-and-white image of a woman in a patterned dress standing outdoors, holding a shiny skull mask in front of her face.
Photo by David Taffet on Unsplash

Through researching further about the many facets of my neurodivergence this year, I’ve begun to realize how much masking plays a part in my everyday life.

From the way I dress, the way I communicate, many of the choices I make, what I feel comfortable doing or not doing, what I push myself to do or not do despite my own comfort level, down to my own perception of myself and others.

Over the weekend, I attended an event with my wife and a couple of acquaintances in downtown Austin. I can probably count the number of events I’ve attended in downtown Austin, on a Saturday night, within the past several years, on one hand. This is a stark contrast from my early 20s, during which you could often find me out with friends drinking, on all nights of the week, going to loud concerts and bars, in a perpetual cycle of physical and mental exhaustion in the name of “fun,” “fitting in,” and⏤in reality⏤attempting to drown out the loudness and busyness in my own head.

While I’ve developed into the type of neurodivergent who craves quiet, safety, predictability, and comfort on a Saturday night, my wife (who is also neurodivergent) tends to crave exciting, stimulating experiences and novelty. We try to establish a balance which caters to both of our needs whenever possible.

--

--

Neely Kimey

The Radically Authentic AuDHD Coach, helping you knock out your self-doubt and live unapologetically. 🪩 weird-wired.com